+ Reply to Thread

Problem with creating bell curves

MS-Off Ver

Question Problem with creating bell curves

I am trying to create a set of bell curves for all the data I have collected during a few days of data collection.
    But I have never used bell curves before and I have been looking for a good "how to do it" tutorial but I never seem to get it right.

Here is an imgur-link of the sheets so people can see what I have done (I wasn't allowed to attached a file):
    http://imgur.com/a/Qdj2i

Here are two pastebin links for the data in both sheets (the data isn't sorted!)
    http://pastebin.com/pTCcm0at - Sheet 1 (Processor usage in %)
    http://pastebin.com/jTYkDpbt - Sheet 2 (Time in milliseconds)

If anyone need more information please tell me what you need.
    I am not a expert on diagrams and such so I am not sure what I should add.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Sightburner; 05-03-2016 at 11:41 PM. Reason: Attached xls with data from one of my tests.

MS-Off Ver
    MS365 Family 64-bit

Re: Problem with creating bell curves

What is it you need to do that is different from what you've done? It looks like your charts correctly show the distribution of your data. It looks like you can tune the bin size.

"Bell curve" is a term that describes a normal distribution. If you data is not normally distributed, your chart will not be a bell curve, and this looks like the case with your data. So I'm not sure what you meant by "bell curve" in your description.

You should be allowed to attach a file. If the paper clip icon doesn't work (we are having intermittent problems with it), when editing a post scroll down and look for the link that says "Manage Attachments". It will let you attach a file but the screens look different.
    Jeff
    | | |·| |·| |·| |·| | |:| | |·| |·|
    Read the rules
    Use code tags to [code]enclose your code![/code]

MS-Off Ver