+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Customer Quoting Database

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    09-01-2005
    Posts
    7

    Customer Quoting Database

    Hello

    I have a quoting program in excel that I created, I use this program to quote customers for laser cutting. It is fairly basic, on the first page I input all the data required to determine the amount of the quote, such as the customer, the material, the size of the part, the amount of parts. The second page is a print page, set up to accordingly and drawing all it's information from the 1st page. The third page is a list of all my customers. On the 4th page is my current steel price list. All of this works great so far, but the problem is this:

    I need to "Record" all the quotes I make. What I would idealy like to have is a different sheet for each customer, so that after I enter the information in the first page that, and select the customer, I could hit a button that would search for that customers "sheet" and copy the information to a new row there.

    I am not that well versed in excel, so please keep the answers simple.

    TIA

    Troy

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    09-01-2005
    Posts
    7
    Anybody have any suggestions??

  3. #3
    Dave Peterson
    Guest

    Re: Customer Quoting Database

    How about a slightly different alternative?

    Add another history sheet--but keep all the history (all the customers) on that
    one sheet.

    You can always use data|filter|autofilter (or data|sort) to show/group what you
    want. And by having all the data in one spot, you can summarize stuff better.

    It sounds like you could take the data off the first sheet (called "Input"???)
    and plop it into the "Summary Sheet" via a macro:

    Option Explicit
    Sub testme01()

    Dim historyWks As Worksheet
    Dim inputWks As Worksheet

    Dim nextRow As Long
    Dim oCol As Long

    Dim myRng As Range
    Dim myAddresses As String
    Dim myCell As Range

    myAddresses = "A1,F9,A2,B1"

    Set inputWks = Worksheets("Input")
    Set historyWks = Worksheets("Summary")

    With historyWks
    nextRow = .Cells(.Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0).Row
    End With

    With inputWks
    Set myRng = .Range(myAddresses)

    If Application.CountA(myRng) <> myRng.Cells.Count Then
    MsgBox "Please fill in all the cells!"
    Exit Sub
    End If
    End With

    With historyWks
    With .Cells(nextRow, "A")
    .Value = Now
    .NumberFormat = "mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss"
    End With
    .Cells(nextRow, "B").Value = Application.UserName
    oCol = 3
    For Each myCell In myRng.Cells
    historyWks.Cells(nextRow, oCol).Value = myCell.Value
    myCell.ClearContents 'clean it up???
    oCol = oCol + 1
    Next myCell
    End With

    End Sub

    I check to see if all the cells have something in them (maybe not required???).

    I also add the date/time to column A of the summary sheet and the username
    (taken from Tools|options|General tab) to column B.

    Then Column C to xxxx go in the same order as the addresses you've specified in
    this line:

    myAddresses = "A1,F9,A2,B1"

    (Change that to match your input worksheet.

    (mycell.clearcontents may not be necessary, too.)

    mount_mordor wrote:
    >
    > Hello
    >
    > I have a quoting program in excel that I created, I use this program to
    > quote customers for laser cutting. It is fairly basic, on the first page
    > I input all the data required to determine the amount of the quote, such
    > as the customer, the material, the size of the part, the amount of
    > parts. The second page is a print page, set up to accordingly and
    > drawing all it's information from the 1st page. The third page is a
    > list of all my customers. On the 4th page is my current steel price
    > list. All of this works great so far, but the problem is this:
    >
    > I need to "Record" all the quotes I make. What I would idealy like to
    > have is a different sheet for each customer, so that after I enter the
    > information in the first page that, and select the customer, I could
    > hit a button that would search for that customers "sheet" and copy the
    > information to a new row there.
    >
    > I am not that well versed in excel, so please keep the answers simple.
    >
    > TIA
    >
    > Troy
    >
    > --
    > mount_mordor
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > mount_mordor's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26879
    > View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=401134


    --

    Dave Peterson

  4. #4
    Dave Peterson
    Guest

    Re: Customer Quoting Database

    I thought I did.

    mount_mordor wrote:
    >
    > Anybody have any suggestions??
    >
    > --
    > mount_mordor
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > mount_mordor's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26879
    > View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=401134


    --

    Dave Peterson

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    09-01-2005
    Posts
    7
    Thankyou for your response

    I might need a little more help on this macro stuff. I am getting an error that says I cannot run macros, because "macros in this project are disabled..."??

  6. #6
    Dave Peterson
    Guest

    Re: Customer Quoting Database

    Close the workbook.
    tools|macro|security|security level

    Change to something that allows macros to run (the options vary between versions
    of windows).

    In later versions, you can choose medium that prompts you each time you open a
    workbook with macros. If you choose this option, just make sure you answer yes
    to allow macros to run when you open that workbook.

    Now reopen the workbook with the macro. (This setting isn't retroactive--that's
    why you have to close and reopen the workbook.)



    mount_mordor wrote:
    >
    > Thankyou for your response
    >
    > I might need a little more help on this macro stuff. I am getting an
    > error that says I cannot run macros, because "macros in this project
    > are disabled..."??
    >
    > --
    > mount_mordor
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > mount_mordor's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26879
    > View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=401134


    --

    Dave Peterson

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    09-01-2005
    Posts
    7
    Ah it was the rebooting excel that I missed. thanks

    Please see my attached workbook. I was getting the messagebox "Please fill in all the cells"

    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Dave Peterson
    Guest

    Re: Customer Quoting Database

    I don't see the attachment and I don't open attachments anyway.

    But if you don't want that check, just delete these lines:

    If Application.CountA(myRng) <> myRng.Cells.Count Then
    MsgBox "Please fill in all the cells!"
    Exit Sub
    End If



    mount_mordor wrote:
    >
    > Ah it was the rebooting excel that I missed. thanks
    >
    > Please see my attached workbook. I was getting the messagebox "Please
    > fill in all the cells"
    >
    > Thanks
    >
    > +-------------------------------------------------------------------+
    > |Filename: LASER WORKSHEET1.zip |
    > |Download: http://www.excelforum.com/attachment.php?postid=3775 |
    > +-------------------------------------------------------------------+
    >
    > --
    > mount_mordor
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > mount_mordor's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26879
    > View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=401134


    --

    Dave Peterson

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    09-01-2005
    Posts
    7
    Well I can see the attachment, but here is a screenshot of my first page
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    09-01-2005
    Posts
    7
    Ok I fiqured out the code, there was a "End With" missing at the end. So that works great, but it's not exactly what I am looking for, although it's getting me closer.

    I want a separate page for each customer, so after my 4th worksheet, I want to start in alphabetical order all my customers. Then when I run this code it will search by customer, and find "their" worksheet, and enter the data under the last row. Is this possible??

  11. #11
    Dave Peterson
    Guest

    Re: Customer Quoting Database

    It's possible, but I still wouldn't do it. Separating the data is never a good
    idea (in my opinion).

    I'd still build that giant summary worksheet.

    If you want to split that summary worksheet later, you may find something close
    at:

    http://www.contextures.com/excelfiles.html

    Create New Sheets from Filtered List -- uses an Advanced Filter to create
    separate sheet of orders for each sales rep visible in a filtered list; macro
    automates the filter. AdvFilterRepFiltered.xls 35 kb

    or

    Update Sheets from Master -- uses an Advanced Filter to send data from
    Master sheet to individual worksheets -- replaces old data with current.
    AdvFilterCity.xls 55 kb

    or maybe Ron de Bruin's easyfilter.
    http://www.rondebruin.nl/easyfilter.htm


    ==========
    And it sounds like you modified the code (all the "end with"'s were there
    before).

    You could use:

    Set historyWks = Worksheets(inputWks.range("a1").value)

    This assumes that each of the customer worksheets already exist and you put the
    customer name in A1 of the inputworksheet.




    mount_mordor wrote:
    >
    > Ok I fiqured out the code, there was a "End With" missing at the end. So
    > that works great, but it's not exactly what I am looking for, although
    > it's getting me closer.
    >
    > I want a separate page for each customer, so after my 4th worksheet, I
    > want to start in alphabetical order all my customers. Then when I run
    > this code it will search by customer, and find "their" worksheet, and
    > enter the data under the last row. Is this possible??
    >
    > --
    > mount_mordor
    > ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > mount_mordor's Profile: http://www.excelforum.com/member.php...o&userid=26879
    > View this thread: http://www.excelforum.com/showthread...hreadid=401134


    --

    Dave Peterson

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    09-01-2005
    Posts
    7
    Ok lets say I go with keeping all my data in one huge sheet. What is the easiest way to get all rows of data from my first sheet into my customer quote database sheet. Right now it is just grabbing the first line, but I sometimes enter more than one quote in the first page, so I may have up to 20 lines. Right now in the code I have

    ----myAddress = "C6,B10,C10,D10,E10,F10,G10,H0,I10,J10,K10"-----

    Do I have to enter each row in, so I would basically have 20times the numbers to enter, or is there a string I could enter???

    I need to go from B10:K10 to B34:K34

    Thanks

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 1