+ Reply to Thread

Need to define dynamic range for column I to K based on dynamic column A

Need to define dynamic range for column I to K based on dynamic column A

I'm pretty new to VBA, so please be patient with me.

I need to compare values in column I to K for the item (here: numbers) in column A. The different items in column A har different amount of properties, so for example;
    Item 12 has 30 properties, item 13 har 8 properties, item 14 has 20 properties.
    Along with the properties there are values (represented in column I to T). These values needs to be compared to a constant number (f.ex. all values higher than 100-> red color).
    BUT there are different criterias for the different items, f.ex; values for item 12A(I to K) gets red it alue is higher than 100, values for item 12B(L to N) gets red if value is higher than 500, value for item 13A(I to K) gets red if value is higher than 1000, and so on.

The attachment shows 4 items (12 to 15), but this could be 100 items or 15 items, this list is variable (along with the properties to each item).

How do I do this?
    Please see attachment to better understand the question .

Thanks!
    Attached Files Attached Files

Forum Expert
    MS-Off Ver
    Excel 365 (Windows)

Re: Need to define dynamic range for column I to K based on dynamic column A

You don't need VBA, but your do need to create a value table from which you can extract the limit for each combination of number and letter, as in this example, which uses a table in $V$9:$Z$13 and the CF formula (starting in I9)

=I9>=INDEX($V$9:$Z$13,MATCH(MAX($A$9:$A9),$V$9:$V$13,FALSE),INT((COLUMN(I9)-9)/3)+2)

Test CF example.xlsx
    Bernie Deitrick
    Excel MVP 2000-2010

Hi.