+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Change drop down based on cell value

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    02-09-2018
    Location
    philadelphia, PA
    MS-Off Ver
    MS Office 2010
    Posts
    3

    Change drop down based on cell value

    Hello,

    I have an excel worksheet with a column titled "Status" which contains a dropdown list with options of "In Progress", "On Hold", "Cancelled" and "Complete" (dropdown options located in an third column). I have another column titled "Ship Date" which is empty until the product is shipped.

    When someone enters a valid ship date into the "Ship Date" column, I would like the dropdown in "Status" column to automatically change to "Complete" (as the product will also be completed it has a ship date). Is this possible and how would I go about doing this?

  2. #2
    Forum Expert BadlySpelledBuoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-14-2013
    Location
    East Sussex, UK
    MS-Off Ver
    365
    Posts
    7,468

    Re: Change drop down based on cell value

    Possible? Yes.
    You would need to use VBA to make the change happen though.

    If that's not a problem, attach a sample workbook so we can see the layout and we can show you how.

    To attach a sample workbook click on GO ADVANCED and then scroll down to Manage Attachments to open the upload window.

    BSB

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    02-09-2018
    Location
    philadelphia, PA
    MS-Off Ver
    MS Office 2010
    Posts
    3
    See attached workbook...column B is what i would expect it to look like but with automation to "Complete" instead of me selecting it every time.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Administrator FDibbins's Avatar
    Join Date
    12-29-2011
    Location
    Duncansville, PA USA
    MS-Off Ver
    Excel 7/10/13/16/365 (PC ver 2310)
    Posts
    52,926

    Re: Change drop down based on cell value

    there is nothing magical about a drop down (Data Validation). It is exactly the same as if you had typed the entry in manually, the only differences being that a DD can save you some typing, help avoid typos and help restrict entry to only a specified "list". Other than that, there is basically no difference. You would refer to it in formulas etc the exact same way as if you were referencing a manually entered cell.

    So, having said that, you can see that what you want to do, would be the same as trying to have a formula AND data in the same cell.
    1. Use code tags for VBA. [code] Your Code [/code] (or use the # button)
    2. If your question is resolved, mark it SOLVED using the thread tools
    3. Click on the star if you think someone helped you

    Regards
    Ford

  5. #5
    Forum Expert BadlySpelledBuoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-14-2013
    Location
    East Sussex, UK
    MS-Off Ver
    365
    Posts
    7,468

    Re: Change drop down based on cell value

    For a VBA solution to this, right click the tab for Sheet1 and select 'View Code'.
    Then paste the below code in the window that opens.
    Go back to Sheet1 and enter a date in column A.
    Please Login or Register  to view this content.
    See attached.

    Does that help at all?

    BSB

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    02-09-2018
    Location
    philadelphia, PA
    MS-Off Ver
    MS Office 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: Change drop down based on cell value

    Yes. That works great! Thanks!

  7. #7
    Forum Expert BadlySpelledBuoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-14-2013
    Location
    East Sussex, UK
    MS-Off Ver
    365
    Posts
    7,468

    Re: Change drop down based on cell value

    No problem. Happy to help

    BSB

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-23-2018, 04:49 AM
  2. [SOLVED] Change contents of a cell based on drop-down box
    By MarkyDee in forum Excel General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-06-2017, 12:35 PM
  3. [SOLVED] How do change a drop down value based on any cell value
    By 4lowie in forum Excel Programming / VBA / Macros
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2015, 05:48 PM
  4. [SOLVED] How do change a drop down value based on any cell value
    By 4lowie in forum Excel General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-15-2015, 05:51 AM
  5. [SOLVED] Change a cell based on a drop down list
    By nickmax1 in forum Excel Programming / VBA / Macros
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-24-2012, 06:25 AM
  6. Cell change based on two drop down menus
    By dsrt16 in forum Excel General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-21-2009, 03:40 PM
  7. How to change drop down values based on another cell value?
    By puneetarora_12 in forum Excel General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-05-2005, 07:05 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 1