+ Reply to Thread

Extract part of data from one cell and insert it in another?

MS-Off Ver
    Excel 2007

Extract part of data from one cell and insert it in another?

I'm new to Excel so I don't know what kind of key words or phrases would describe the process I'm seeking to use to do the following.

In column 1 of each row I have a randomly structured description of a widget.
    Each descriptions includes a string defining one of ten possible model numbers.

I want to search each description for one of the ten possible model numbers and extract just the model number string from each description and place it into an adjacent cell in a newly inserted column 2.

The object is to sort the widgets into model number groups.

Maybe I don't need to extract each model number into a separate cell to do this. It does duplicate information in the table, so perhaps it would be better to search for the model number string in the original description location and sort the data into model number groups from there, if this is possible.
    Please advise.

Lila Duncan
    Last edited by Lila:-D; 03-07-2012 at 03:08 AM.

MS-Off Ver
    1997 - 2016

Re: Extract part of data from one cell and insert it in another?

Hi Lila,

Welcome to the forum.

Please post a sample file for quick try. Thanks.

Regards,
    DILIPandey

<click on below 'star' if this helps>
    DILIPandey, Excel rMVP
    +919810929744 (India), +971528225509 (Dubai), [email protected]

MS-Off Ver
    Excel 2007

Hi,
    This is a small and simplified example file. I hope it's OK for the purpose and that it's attached properly.

Extract_model_Info_from_A_to_B.xlsx

Lila:-D

MS-Off Ver
    1997 - 2016

Hi Lila,

Thanks for the attachment, which is now solved and re-attached.

Regards,
    DILIPandey

Attached Files Attached Files

MS-Off Ver
    Excel 2007

Red face Re: Extract part of data from one cell and insert it in another?

Quote Originally Posted by dilipandey View Post
    Hi Lila,