+ Reply to Thread

Need to generate a random serial number that automatically populates the transmittal sheet

MS-Off Ver
    Excel 2010

Need to generate a random serial number that automatically populates the transmittal sheet

I am a newbie to excel and require assistance, In the attached, I am looking for a macro to generate random serial numbers in column B. That serial number once populated fully would transpose to the transmittal sheet. I am looking for a button that would save the completed sheet as a PDF document. The user would then save the workbook, close, and use the next row as needed.
    Attached Files Attached Files

MS-Off Ver
    365 Win 11

Re: Need to generate a random serial number that automatically populates the transmittal s

It would be easier if your transmittal were in Excel rather than an embedded word document. It's then fairly easy, one thing though, that is an Excel 2003 workbook, is that because some users only have 2003 or will all have 2010?

PDFs aren't straightforward in 2003

MS-Off Ver
    Excel 2010

Re: Need to generate a random serial number that automatically populates the transmittal s

Morning,

Many thanks for the quick reply. I have attached a new file, this one saved in 2010, we had a few stragglers still using 2003, but if it helps make it easier, I have struggled with this. Do you mean the transmittal as an embedded word document? Im not aware of any way to transpose the data from word to excel without losing the intergrity of the sheet...

MS-Off Ver
    365 Win 11

It would be easier to remake the word document in Excel, you would just have to adjust columns/rows etc so that it looked the same - it wouldn't take long