+ Reply to Thread

How to return column header based on a value from a table

MS-Off Ver
    XP

How to return column header based on a value from a table

Hi! I work for a non-profit agency that works with individuals with disabilities and their Service Coordinators. What I'm doing is sorting out the folks that need a letter sent as of this month, and I need also to send a copy to their SC but only the agency name shows in my sorted information, not the individual SC name. I'd like Excel to fill in the SC by looking up the client's name from a multiple-page workbook and have the column header (which is their service coordinator's name) returned.

I'm fairly new to Excel, but the array here: http://www.excelforum.com/excel-gene...m-a-table.html looks close to what I need to do.

Can anyone help me adjust it to work for me? I have three pages in the workbook, with different numbers of columns and rows per page. I'd like it to automatically fill them in, so I wouldn't have to type in each name. Is this possible? Thank you in advance.

MS-Off Ver

Re: How to return column header based on a value from a table

please post sample excel file.

MS-Off Ver
    MS365 Family 64-bit

A solution was provided in the thread you linked. If that solution doesn't work for you, it means that your situation is significantly different. Therefore we need to see your actual file to be able to provide a formula. Please attach your file. If it is private data, feel free to delete the data but we need see how everything is organized. The best thing would be to replace real data with fake data, but I understand that might be very time consuming in some situations.

To attach a file, under the text box where you type your reply click the Go Advanced button. On the next screen scroll down and click on Manage Attachments, which will show a pop-up window to Select and Upload a file. Then close the window.
    Jeff
    | | |會 |會 |會 |會 | |:| | |會 |會
    Read the rules